My Data Science Journey

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

My name is Vuyisile Thabethe from South Africa. I am an ecologist who is transitioning to data science. I have always been interested in data science so when I came across the opportunity to join the #RollademyMentorship program I jumped right to it. Having a community to learn with and a mentor on my side is amazing. I am so grateful to @Rasheedah for this opportunity.

So why I decided to blog? Well, the main reason is to journal my journey as a complete beginner. I will be blogging about everything, this will include what I learned, challenges, personal victories, and failures. I am excited about this and looking forward to learning, unlearning, and relearning. This space will also be for my accountability and I hope that someone will learn something from my journey someday.

The journey has started already, I joined on the 6th of September 2022 and there are two courses to complete by the end of the week. The first course is Python for Data Science for Beginners and the second one is a full data science advanced course. I have only done the first course so far and I think they should add zero to hero somewhere on the course description. This course takes you from zero to downloading python, setting up a Jupyter notebook, and writing your first code in one sitting. The course material is easy to follow but there is so much to learn, which is exciting. I'll end this blog here for now but don't worry this is the first blog of many from me, so I'll see you soon. #RollademyMentorship